Taft 2012 – Coolidge 2016

Before I received my old-fashioned paper copy of reason magazine in the mail today, I hadn’t been aware that there is an apparently not-that-new-anymore book out that features a revived William Howard Taft entering the 2012 race for the presidency. I’m looking forward to reading this – but I am a little disappointed that author Jason Heller chose to reanimate Taft rather than Coolidge, who I feel would be a candidate better suited to the budget-cutting needs of today and tomorrow. Still, Taft certainly was a larger-than-life figure in more ways than one, and the premise, though far-fetched, sounds intriguing. And it could have been worse – he could’ve picked Wilson or either one of the Roosevelts😉

Leave a Reply

