Reagan Centennial

While Ronald Reagan often made fun of his relatively advanced age (“…as Benjamin Franklin once said to me…”), he was not, of course, a generational contemporary of Calvin Coolidge, although Coolidge was perhaps the first president who impressed himself on the young Ronald Reagan. It may be that Coolidge was not held in the highest esteem in the Reagan household; after all, his father was a Democrat who bestowed on his younger son the middle name “Wilson” in honor of Woodrow Wilson. But years later, when the adult Ronald Reagan began to interest himself in politics and economics, he grew ever fonder of the 30th president; and once he himself attained the nation’s highest office, he made the White House staff get the official painting of Coolidge out of mothballs and gave it a prominent place on the White House walls.

Now, this coming Sunday, Feb. 6, marks the 100th anniversary of Ronald Reagan’s birth. There is a lot of excitement building at the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Museum in Simi Valley, California. Share in the excitement by visiting the Ronald Reagan Centennial website with its many multimedia offerings on this remarkable man.

Me, I will be celebrating the memory of Reagan by visiting the Allied Museum here in Berlin (for the first time, too) and enjoying a festive lunch with my wife. We’ll be toasting the memory of Ronald Reagan, as I hope you will.

4 thoughts on “Reagan Centennial

  1. Kai

    I hope you understand this ole guy this side of the line.

    You have done something in this Post that earns my highest respect. It is also a very fine piece of research and writing.

    On a whimsical note, the following link was my contribution in the current American context. Your “work of art” of course, leaves me out in shame but I did mine in the way I did for a purpose. I will tell you about that another time.

    http://ikejakson.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/you-all-remember-him/

    Congratulations on a fine Post.

    • Ike,
      you embarrass me! I know full well that my scribblings do not constitute works of art. Anyway, I go back a long way with Reagan. Back in 1979, when I was in high school, I became interested in the then upcoming elections. This was before the internet, so I went downtown to the library, got out the “Who’s Who” and noted down Reagan’s address, then wrote him a fan letter. And lo and behold, a few weeks later I got a short letter AND a little paperback book, “Sincerely, Ronald Reagan”, selections from his correspondence as governor, and compiled by his secretary (later Ambassador to Austria) Helene von Damm. And I was hooked! When the Reagans were in the White House, I did receive a nice letter and signed photo of Nancy Reagan.
      Hope this finds you well, enjoy your weekend!
      Best, ~Kai

  2. Kai

    You are way too modest about your work; nobody but nobody that I have seen or heard of has combined Reagan and Coolidge in a Blog site, and a good one at that.

    But modesty is an endearing trait and I shall respect that; on my side I am aware of a natural inclination to shout in exuberance if I see something that gives me joy. I shall try to restrict it with you because I can also see that you are a private sort of guy.

    I did not mean to offend or intrude.

    • Ike,
      I do hope I don’t come across as stand-offish (do people still use that word?). It’s just that I don’t really have time for a wide range of in-depth conversations, much as I’d love to. I do try to reply to comments, you know! Let me just stress that you neither offend nor intrude at all.

Leave a Reply

